Migne picks 25 home based players as plans for upcoming Harambee Stars duty start

Plans for the upcoming national team, Harambee Stars, assignments have started, with the final of the six 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying matches and the start of the 2020 African Nations Championships (CHAN) in the horizon.

Head Coach Sébastien Migné has selected a provisional team of 25 locally based players who will kick off weekly non residential training for the same.

In the first session, scheduled for Tuesday 19 February, at the Kenya School of Monetary Studies Grounds starting 9am, 17 are expected to participate with the remaining eight, whose clubs are based out of Nairobi expected to join the following week.

Dennis Odhiambo

Dennis Odhiambo of Sofapaka, a regular in the 2019 AFCON qualifiers will be among the midfielders while Teddy Osok, who has had a great season so far, at second tier side, Wazito FC is the only player picked from the National Super League (NSL).

Francis Kahata, Philemon Otieno, Joash Onyango, Elvis Nandwa, Abdallah Hassan, Farouk Shikalo, Allan Wanga, and Benard Ochieng are all excused from the opening training session.

Selected players


Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari)


Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Michael Kibwage (KCB), Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United)


Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Duke Abuya (Kariobangi Sharks), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), John Avire (Sofapaka), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Teddy Osok (Wazito FC), Whyonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Jafari Owiti (AFC Leopards), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars).


Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega HomeBoyz), David Juma (Tusker)