Date set for Kenya – Burundi CHAN Qualifier

Africa Nations Championships 2020 (CHAN) Qualifiers dates have been released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), with Kenya set to contest in the first round, against Burundi.

In the schedule released, the first leg is set to be played in Nairobi between Friday 26 July and Monday 28 July while the second leg is slated between Friday 2 and Sunday 4 August in Burundi.

Appearance

Kenya will be seeking a maiden appearance at the 16 team tourney which will be held in Ethiopia in January 2020 with the competition and qualifiers only reserved for players actively featuring in their respective national championships.

The winner on aggregate between Kenya and Burundi will face either Tanzania or Sudan in the second and final qualifying round, with the first leg set to be played between Friday 20 and Sunday 22 September and the second leg scheduled for between Friday 18 and Sunday 20 October.

Camp

Meanwhile, Harambee Stars will check into camp on Sunday 17 March in preparation for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Ghana scheduled for Saturday 23 March in Accra.

Meanwhile, the Kenya U23 national team, Emerging Stars, is set to hit camp on Monday 11 March for the upcoming two legged 2019 AFCON U23 cum 2020 Olympics qualifier against Sudan whose first leg will be played on Wednesday 20 March in Sudan and the second leg on Sunday 24 March in Nairobi.