Six games and counting: Sharks scalp still elusive for Nzoia

Nzoia Sugar will have to wait for another season to claim their first topflight win over Kariobangi Sharks; this after the millers fell to a 1-0 loss to the latter in a round 18 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) fixture played Wednesday 13 March at the MISC Kasarani.

Eric Kapaito scored the only goal of the game after 19 minutes of the clash to make it now five wins in six topflight meetings between the two sides.

NSL 2016

Not since the 2016 National Super League (NSL) season have Nzoia enjoyed a win against Sharks. As the two teams battled to win promotion to the topflight in that year, Nzoia claimed a 3-1 first leg win at the Camp Toyoyo before Sharks revenged with a 1-0 win in the second-leg in Awendo that ended Nzoia’s unbeaten home record of the season and subsequently sealed automatic promotion for them.

Wednesday’s result

Today’s result sees Sharks remain in 5th place on the standings though they move up to 29 points, three points adrift of top spot, though that is subject to change as the round is yet to conclude.

Nzoia on their part remain in 11th place with 20 points after suffering their fifth loss in six outings.


Kariobangi Sharks XI: Brian Bwire, Eric Juma, Michael Bodo, Boniface Onyango, Nixon Omondi, Pattilah Omotto, Harrison Mwendwa, Shaphan Oyugi, Duke Abuya, Sydney Lokale, Eric Kapaito.

Subs: John Oyemba, Vincent Wasambo, Geoffrey Shiveka, Patrick Ngunyi, James Mazembe, Henry Juma, Fidel Origa,

Nzoia Sugar Starting XI: 15. Humphrey Katasi 12. Brian Wepo 16. Thomas Wainaina 02. Gabriel Wandera 34. Vincent Ngesa 04. Peter Gin 25. Dennis Wanjala 13. Kevin Juma 11. Hansel Ochieng’ 10. Patrick Otieno 30. Stephen Etyang’

Subs: 39. Benson Mangala 24. Caleb Alubale 06. Jackson Dwang’ 20. Riziki Mwema 21. Robert Arrot 07. Collins Wakhungu 33. Abraham Kipkogei.