AFCON 2019: Kenya, lands Algeria and Senegal in draw

The 32nd edition of the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) is officially on. The draw for the competition, marking the real preparations for the finals was conducted in Egypt, the host nation, on Friday 12 April, with the finals set to mark the first time 24 teams participate.

Kenya will be making a return to the competition after a 15 – year absence and the prize for them is being slotted in Group C of the competition, where they will face Tanzania in an East African derby, North Africans Algeria will also be in the pool as well as Senegal.

In their last participation at the competition, Kenya had Mali, Burkina Faso and Senegal. They only managed a 3 – 0 win over Burkina Faso, and that win came a tad too late as they had already lost the earlier two group matches.

From the draw, it is clear the big battles will be in Group A with hosts Egypt drawing East African giants Uganda, DR Congo and Zimbabwe.


Group A: Egypt, Uganda, DR Congo, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau