Harambee Stars trio help Zesco to seal 7th successive CAF appearance

Zesco United will be one of two Zambian representatives at next season’s CAF Champions League; this after the Ndola based side finished top of Zone A of this season’s Zambian topflight thanks to a 3-0 win over Kitwe United on Saturday 26 May, the final day of the regular season.

Zesco finished ahead of Zanaco FC and Red Arrows thanks to their superior goal difference after both teams finished tied on 33 points each.

Transitional season

This season’s transitional calendar saw the 20 team Zambian topflight league divided into two zones with teams from the North in one zone and teams from the South in the other.

Harambee Stars trio of Jesse Were, Anthony Akumu and David Owino all started in the final game of the regular season against Kitwe United with striker Were being handed the captain’s armband.

Lazarus Kambole (Centre) netted a brace on Saturday for Zesco against Kitwe United with Jesse Were (R) donning the captain’s armband in the game (PIC: Zesco United)

Lazarus Kambole netted a brace with John Ching’andu adding the other as Zesco swept past their opponents on Saturday at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium to secure a 7th straight CAF appearance for the powermen.

The season is not yet over though for the defending ZSL champions who now have to face off against Zone B winners Green Eagles to see who claims this season’s title.

Eagles have one more round to play but have already been assured of top spot in Zone B as well as a place at next season’s CAF Champions League.

The first runners-up in each zone qualify for the CAF Confederations Cup.

Red Arrows, home to Kenyan duo of custodian Ian Otieno and midfielder Andrew Tololwa, missed out on a chance to play continental football as they finished 3rd in Zone A while Nkana FC in Zone B will not be in Africa next season as they currently lie in 6th place with 23 points and out of contention for a CAF slot.

Nkana FC, Power Dynamos

Nkana is home to Stars duo of Musa Mohammed and Duncan Otieno and were the only Zambian team to advance from the group stages of the CAF CC this season.

Power Dynamos, home to another Kenyan in former Nzoia Sugar forward Elvis Rupia and former Sofapaka custodian Mathias Kigonya are also out of contention for a CAF slot in Zone B.

The normal proceedings of the ZSL will continue with the 2020 season.