Obi Mikel the skipper as Nigeria’s final squad for AFCON 2019 is named

Three-time African champions Nigeria will be led by John Obi Mikel in the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt after Coach Gernot Rohr on Monday 10 June named his final squad for the competition.

Obi, Ahmed Musa and Kenneth Omeruo are the only three out of the 23 players that took part in the 2013 tournament in South Africa that saw Nigeria win.


Two of the players dropped from the 25-man provisional squad were Leicester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham United midfielder Semi Ajayi.

The squad has set a training camp in Ismailia and will play a final warm-up game against Senegal on Sunday after they played out a goalless draw with Zimbabwe on Saturday in the southern Nigerian town of Asaba.

Nigeria are placed in Group B alongside Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar.

Nigeria squad

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta/CYP), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United), Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs/RSA)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino/ITA), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor/TUR), Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor/TUR), William Ekong (Udinese/ITA), Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion/ENG), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes/ESP), Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07/GER)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Middlesbrough/ENG), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City/ENG), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City/ENG), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva/ISR)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasser/KSA), Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi/BEL), Moses Simon (Levante/ESP), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray/TUR), Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua/CHN), Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal/ENG), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux/FRA), Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland/DEN), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal/ESP)