Gor Mahia, Bandari to know CECAFA group opponents on Friday

The Rwandese football federation FERWAFA has confirmed via its social media handles that the group placings and fixtures of this year’s CECAFA Kagame Cup will be revealed on Friday 21 June at the federation’s headquarters in Kigali.

This year’s regional tournament will be hosted by Rwanda from July 6 to 21 and Kenya will be represented by Gor Mahia and Bandari FC, the league and cup winners respectively.

A total of 13 teams have so far confirmed participation with three others expected to do so by Friday. Of the 13, two, namely Green Buffaloes of Zambia and TP Mazembe of the DRC are guests from outside the region.

Confirmed participants

Gor Mahia, Bandari, KCCA (Uganda), Proline (Uganda), Azam (Tanzania), TP Mazembe (DRC), Rayon Sports (Rwanda), APR (Rwanda), KMKM FC (Zanzibar), AS Ports (Djibouti), Heegan (Somalia), Green Buffaloes (Zambia)