Thursday set as deadline date for teams to jet in for Kagame Cup

All 16 teams scheduled to take part at this year’s CECAFA Kagame Cup tournament to be hosted by Rwanda are required to be in the country by Thursday 4 July ahead of the tournament kick off on Saturday 6.

The hosts have three teams taking part with Kenya being represented by Gor Mahia and Bandari FC.

There are three guest teams which are DRC duo of TP Mazembe and DC Motema Pemba with Zambian outfit Green Eagles joining the party.


Uganda and Tanzania are also being represented by two teams with South Sudan, Somalia and Djibouti having one representative each.

Groupings and fixture list for the 42nd edition of the CECAFA Kagame Cup

Both Gor Mahia and Bandari started their preparations last week with Bandari flying off to South Africa where they played two friendly matches against Cape Town City and Royal Rangers.

The week-long tour was also geared at sharpening the team ahead of their return to continental football.

Bernard Mwalala’s men qualified for the 2019-20 CAF Confederations Cup by winning the FKF Shield Cup last season. They last played in the tournament back in 2016.

The Coastal outfit will be the first Kenyan team in action in Rwanda as they are scheduled to take on Ugandan side KCCA on Sunday at the Huye Stadium with Gor taking to the field a day later on Monday against DC Motema Pemba at the Umuganda Stadium.