Saruni, Lokale named in Stars’ 24-man squad for Tanzania CHAN qualifier

Harambee Stars head coach Sebastien Migne has on Thursday 11 July named a 24-man squad for the upcoming 2020 CHAN two-legged qualifier against Tanzania.

The French coach has trimmed the squad from the initial 32-man provisional squad named two months ago and has at the same time added four new names to the line-up.

Those added to the squad are; Ulinzi Stars veteran custodian James Saruni and youngsters Yusuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Musa Masika (Wazito FC) and Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks).

Francis Kahata, Cliff Nyakeya and Allan Wanga, who were all named in the provisional squad, were not eligible for the final released squad for various reasons.

Nyakeya and Kahata are no longer local based players with their moves outside the country during the current off season while Wanga has retired from international football.

Stars are to play the first-leg away in Dar Es Salaam on July 26 with the return leg coming a week later in Nairobi on August 2.

Below is the squad;


John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks) James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars)


Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia) Yusuf Mainge (KCB) Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United) Mike Kibwage (KCB) Andrew Juma (Mathare United) David Owino (Mathare United)


Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka) Teddy Osok (Wazito) Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia) Duke Abuya (Kariobangi Sharks) Patillah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks) Paul Were (AFC Leopards) Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia) Roy Okal (Mathare United) Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards)


John Avire (Sofapaka) Musa Masika (Wazito) Nicholas Kipkirui (Gor Mahia) Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks) Piston Mutamba (Wazito) Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars)