FKF DIV One set for blockbuster ending as promotion race in Zone B goes down to the wire

The 2019 FKF Division One season will come to an end on Saturday 20 July. All but one position on both ends in the two Zones has been determined.

The relegation casualties have already been confirmed and so have been the two automatic promoted teams. The only thing remaining is which team will clinch the promotion play-off slot in Zone B.

Upper hand

APs Bomet currently have the upper hand as they sit in second place in the zone with 55 points, just a point behind 3rd place Bungoma Superstars.

Both teams need to win – of course – on the final day, but the twist here is that the two teams will conclude the season against each other at APs’ Silibwet Stadium, a ground that will witness a blockbuster contest.

Both teams have won a similar number of games (16) but Bungoma has lost more (5) than APs (4). Ibrahim Shikanda’s men though, have been the more prolific side not only between the two but in the whole zone with 50 goals scored, which also places them 3rd in the whole division behind Zone A duo of Ligi Ndogo (55) and Green Berets (51).

Bungoma Superstars are coached by former Kenyan international Ibrahim Shikanda (L) (PIC: Bungoma Superstars)

Rock solid

APs on their part have a rock solid defence that has allowed just 15 goals all season, the second best tally in the zone and in the entire league behind already promoted and Zone B champions Vihiga Bullets who have conceded 14.

For Bungoma, it is not only in the league that they have achieved unprecedented success, the team has also held its own in the FKF Shield cup where they reached the quarter-finals after downing bigwigs AFC Leopards and Sofapaka, proving that they will be a match for anyone if they make it to the NSL.

Whoever wins between the two teams to finish second in the zone is set to meet Ligi Ndogo in the playoffs, the Nairobi based side are almost certain of finishing second in Zone A as they sit ahead of last year’s playoff losers Mwatate United by three points.

Ligi have 58 points and a healthy +10 goal difference on Mwatate.


Vihiga Bullets and Muranga Seal are the two winners in both zones and the two confirmed automatic promoted teams.

St. Joseph’s Youth Academy and Poror Mote are the two relegated teams in Zone B while PJ Dave, Tiki and Kilifi All Stars have been chopped in Zone A.