Miheso named in Harambee Stars traveling team for Tanzania CHAN qualifier

Just hours after being confirmed a new signing at National Super League (NSL) side Kenya Police FC, Clifton Miheso has been named in the final squad that will be traveling to Tanzania for the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier on Sunday 28 July.

The team of 22 players also has Mathare United defender Johnston Omurwa, who was another late call up, Musa Masika of Wazito FC will be traveling too, hoping to get his first senior team cap.

Skipper Odhiambo

Dennis Odhiambo of Sofapaka will skipper the team while his mate at the club John Avire who has been in trouble with his club in the recent days is left out.

There is also no place in the team for Mathare United defender Andrew Juma, Gor Mahia’s Philemon Otieno and new Wazito FC signing Derrick Otanga, while Mathare United’s Roy Okal has also been overlooked and there is no place for Yusuf Mainge who is said be on his way out to Europe.

Final squad

Goalkeepers: James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Benard Ochieng (Wazito), Mike Kibwage (KCB), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia)

Midfielders: Duke Abuya (Kariobangi Sharks), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka) (c), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), Musa Masika (Wazito), Teddy Osok (Wazito), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia), Cliffton Miheso (Kenya Police), Patillah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks)

Forwards: Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars), Piston Mutamba (Wazito), Nicholas Kipkirui (Gor Mahia)