Harambee Stars, Taifa Stars fire blanks in Dar Es Salaam

Kenya’s Harambee Stars held Tanzania’s Taifa Stars to a 0-0 draw at the National Stadium in Dar Es Salaam on Sunday 28 July when the two sides faced off in the first leg of their CHAN 2020 Qualifiers from 4pm EAT.

The hosts had paraded an all-attacking front three and Iddi Selemani would only need four minutes to test Kenya’s defense when his header veered over the crossbar.

Neither of the teams would forge any threatening attack after Iddi’s header and while the home team kept the ball in the midfield, Sebastien Migne’s Harambee Stars cautiously maintained their lines allowing little space for Taifa Stars.

A barren first 45 minutes highlighted the two teams’ first-half encounter and fans hoped things would change in the second.

Something would have changed three minutes after resumption had someone responded to Gadiel Michael’s corner kick which floated over every red and blue shirt in the Kenyan box. A minute after this, Gor Mahia defender Joash Onyango would rise to head Clifton Miheso’s corner kick over the bar.

Clifton Miheso in action during the match [IMAGE- Courtesy]

Harambee Stars coach Sebastien Migne then brought in Samuel Onyango for Wazito FC youngster Musa Masika.

Tanzania Etienne Ndayiragije would ring his first change of the game in response to Migne, bringing in Simba Sports Club man Ajib Ibrahim for Ayub Lyanga, but even this could not swing the tie to his favor.

Perhaps hoping for some magic, Etienne then threw in 16-year-old Kelvin John for Hassan Dilunga, an U17 International for his senior debut and a lackluster performance from captain of the day John Bocco saw the latter withdrawn for Salim Aiyee with under ten minutes of play left.

Nothing changed.

Fans who showed up for the match at the national stadium in Dar es Salaam, were forced to another barren half as neither team got the breakthrough in the clash.

The two face of a week from today in Nairobi on Sunday, August 4, 2019.

How the two teams lined up:

Taifa Stars: Juma Kaseja (GK), Gadiel Michael, Kelvin Yondani, Erasto Nyoni, Paulo Godfrey, Jonas Mkude, Hassan Dilunga, Salum Abubakar, John Bocco, Ayub Lyanga, Iddi Selemani.

Harambee Stars: John Oyemba (GK), Bernard Ochieng, Joash Onyango, Michael Kibwage, Cliffton Miheso, Dennis Odhiambo (C), Kenneth Muguna, Musa Masika, Whyvonne Isuza, Duke Abuya, Enosh Ochieng.