DIV-One PlayOff: APs Bomet make lightwork of Ligi Ndogo to seal NSL berth

APs Bomet will play in the NSL for the 2019-20 season; this after the Bomet County based side defeated Ligi Ndogo 4-1 in the two teams’ FKF Division One promotion playoff encounter played at the Moi Stadium in Kisumu on Monday 29 July.

Nairobi based side Ligi Ndogo started the game the better of the two sides with former Wazito FC man Kenneth Maritim breaking the deadlock after just 10 minutes from close range after being found in space by the marauding Paul Blessing.

Full flight

Coached by Samuel Machio, Ligi Ndogo were in full flight in the opening minutes of the encounter and nearly doubled their lead just two minutes later through former KCB forward Brian Yator.

Kenneth Maritim scored Ligi Ndogo’s lone goal against APs Bomet

But that is as good as it would get for them as Bomet took the game by the scruff of the neck to score four unanswered goals.

Dominic Kirui would bring Sebastien Owino’s charges back level before half time with Conrad Isiki and Philip Masai (brace) rounding off the huge win that sends them to their first season in Kenya’s second tier.

Three promoted

APs Bomet sealed the playoff spot after finishing second in Zone B with Ligi Ndogo finishing as runners-up in Zone A.

Bomet now join Vihiga Bullets and Muranga Seal as the three promoted teams from the 3rd tier. Bullets topped Zone B while Muranga were the victors in Zone A.


APs Bomet

Starting XI: Gilbert Otieno, Chris Nilunda, Michael Muhadia, Mominic Kirui, Daniel Odhiambo, Brian Ngala, Dickson Mwangi, Clement Otieno, James Khalea, Conrad Isigi, Philip Masai

Subs: Bon Munyasa, Junior Oduor, Simon Munya, Hassan Guyo, Franklin Ashiene, Lawrence Kibet, Ramadhan Hamisi

Ligi Ndogo

Starting XI: Charles Ouma, Michael Odhiambo, Kenneth Maritim, Maingi Muthoka, Stephen Jacob, Christian Lubulu, Brian Kimechwa, Raidon Wanyonyi, Eric Mbugua, Paul Blessing, Brian Mzee

Subs: Fanwel Milton, Wycliffe Njuku, Sadeeq Ayobami, Brillian Ochieng, Edgar Lennox, Lewis Shivachi, Victor Azubuike