Law enforcers derby on opening day of 2019/20 NSL season as fixtures are released

The fixtures for the 2019/20 National Super League (NSL) season have been released with the campaign set to kick off on September 1.

Debutants APs Bomet will begin their campaign in a law enforcer’s derby against Kenya Police in one of the opening day’s highlight matches. Their promotion now means that there will be three law enforcers derbies this season, just as it was in 2018 when all three Stima teams played in the division.

Bomet made it to the NSL via a third tier playoff win over Ligi Ndogo and are one of three teams to advance from the FKF Division One with the other two teams being Vihiga Bullets and Muranga Seal.


All three are making their NSL debuts and Bullets will begin their campaign against Talanta while Muranga will be up against Kibera Black Stars.

The new season will also see the return of Mt Kenya United (formerly Nakumatt FC) and Vihiga United, both having suffered the chop from the KPL last season.

MKU are returning back to the NSL after spending the last three seasons in the KPL, two as Nakumatt and now will start their campaign, to hopefully return to the top tier, against Bidco United.


Vihiga United on their part will be up against Migori Youth after spending two seasons in the KPL. The side won the 2017 NSL campaign to win automatic promotion.

Last season’s playoff losers Nairobi Stima will kick off their campaign against Eldoret Youth, who are set to be renamed Northern Wanderers after being bought by a consortium led by National Assembly majority leader Aden Dwale.

Below are all 10 of the opening day fixtures;

Ushuru vs St Joseph Youth (Ruaraka grounds)

Kenya Police vs APs Bomet (Karuturi grounds)

Modern Coast Rangers vs Administration Police (Serani grounds)

Eldoret Youth vs Nairobi Stima (Eldoret Show grounds)

Muranga Seal vs Kibera Black Stars (Thika Stadium)

Coast Stima vs Fortune Sacco (Mbaraki Sports ground)

Nairobi City Stars vs Shabana FC (Hope Centre)

Bidco United vs Mt Kenya United (Thika Stadium)

Talanta vs Vihiga Bullets (Camp Toyoyo)

Vihiga United vs Migori Youth (Mumias Sports Complex)