SJAK 2018/19 Awards: Chapa Dimba MVP makes final shortlist with Bandari earning most nominations

Bandari FC have three representatives and one other former player in the final list of nominees for the 2018-19 SJAK Awards that will be held on Monday 19 August, to make The Dockers the most represented team.

For their exploits of finishing in second place in last season’s KPL, the coastal outfit have head coach Bernard Mwalala named in the Coach of The Year category, Brian Otieno in the Defenders category, winger Hassan Abdallah in the midfielders bracket and now Yanga shotstopper Farouk Shikalo in the running for the Goal Keepers award.

Tremendous 2019

The nominations mark a tremendous 2019 for Bandari who returned back to the continental scene after winning the FKF Shield Cup that saw them qualify for the preliminary stages of the CAF Confederations Cup.

Record KPL champions Gor Mahia have the second most representatives with three, though two are no longer with the club.

David Majak has been nominated in the New/Young Player Category after netting six times for Tusker in the league last season.

They include; former head coach Hassan Oktay, now Simba SC midfielder Francis Kahata and defensive stalwart Joash Onyango.

Kahata and Joash join Ulinzi Stars forward and last season’s top scorer Enosh Ochieng as the players with a chance to walk away with two awards on the night as they have been nominated in two categories each.


The three players will also fight it out for the MVP award.

In the Young Player of The Year category, Jackson Dwang (Nzoia Sugar) and David Majak (Tusker) two players of South Sudanese heritage will fight it out alongside Daniel Sakari, formerly of Kakakamega Homeboyz and now of Kariobangi Sharks, for the breakout star of last season.

It is also worth noting that Majak, claimed the MVP Award in season one of the Chapa Dimba tournament after leading Kapenguria Heroes to the title.

Below is the full list of nominees;

Goal Keeper of The Year

Faruk Shikalo – Bandari/Yanga SC
Justin Ndikumana – Sofapaka FC
Samuel Odhiambo – Western Stima

Defender of The Year

Kelvin Wesonga – SoNy Sugar
Joash Onyango – Gor Mahia
Brian Otieno – Bandari FC

Midfielder of The Year

Francis Kahata – Gor Mahia/Simba SC
Cliff Nyakeya – Mathare United/Al Masr
Abdallah Hassan – Bandari FC

New/ Young Player of The Year

Jackson Dwang – Nzoia Sugar
Daniel Sakari – Kakamega Homeboyz/ Kariobangi Sharks
David Majak – Tuskerb FC

Golden Boot Award

Enosh Ochieng – Ulinzi Stars
Allan Wanga – Kakamega Homeboyz
Umaru Kasumba – Sofapaka

Most Valuable Player (MVP)

Enosh Ochieng – Ulinzi Stars
Francis Kahata – Gor Mahia/Simba SC
Joash Onyango – Gor Mahia

Coach of The Year

John Baraza – Sofapaka
Hassan Oktay – Gor Mahia
Bernard Mwalala – Bandari