New signings to feature as Bandari, Gor Mahia name squads for Super Cup tie

The 2019-20 domestic league and cup season will officially kick off on Sunday 18 August at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos where last season’s KPL winners Gor Mahia will lock horns against the defending FKF Shield Cup champions Bandari FC in the annual season curtain-raiser, the KPL Super Cup.

The match will kick off from 4PM local time and will be live on KTN NEWS.

Both teams have been active in pre-season as well as playing competitive matches in the CECAFA Kagame Cup played in July as well as the preliminaries of the CAF Confederations Cup and Champions League and come into this game well-oiled and already having integrated into their squads their new recruits.

Danson Chetambe has been named in Bandari’s starting squad that will take on Gor Mahia in the 2019-20 KPL Super Cup (PIC: Bandari FC)

Some of the new faces have been handed starting berths for Sunday’s tie which also sees the top two teams in last season’s final league standings faceoff.


Bandari have named Danson Chetambe in the starting eleven with the attacking midfielder having joined this off-season from Zoo FC.

Bernard Mwalala has also named shotstopper Justin Ndikumana among the subs with the Burundian national having joined from Sofapaka FC.

Gor on their part have named four new signings in coach Steven Pollack’s starting XI. Tanzanian keeper David Mapigano starts in goal with youngster Tobias Otieno, Ghanaian forward Francis Afriye and Harambee Stars winger Cliff Miheso also starting.

The match will signify the official debuts for Miheso and Afriye who were not included in Gor’s travelling squad to Rwanda for the first-leg of their CAF CC tie against Black Eagles last weekend.

Former Western Stima and Thika United forward Kennedy Otieno, who also missed the trip to Rwanda, makes the bench for Sunday’s game and will also be hoping to make his debut.

Below are both teams’ full line ups;

Gor Mahia

Starting XI: David Mapigano (GK), Joash Onyango, Charles Momanyi, Wellington Ochieng, Geoffrey Ochieng, Tobias Otieno, Lawrence Juma, Kenneth Miguna, Francis Afriyie, Samuel Onyango, Cliff Miheso

Subs: Boniface Oluoch, Joachim Oluoch, Nicholas Kipkirui, Bernard Ondiek , Wendo, Boniface Omondi, Kennedy Otieno

Bandari FC

Starting XI: Michael Wanyika (GK), Nicholas Mejja, Fred Nkata, Brian Otieno, Felly Mulumba, Collins Agade, Shaban Kenga, Danson Chetambe, Yema Mwana, William Wadri, David King’atua

Subs: Justin Ndikumana (GK), Moses Mudavadi, Siraj Mohammed, Dan Guya, Wycliffe Ochomo, Benjamin Mosha, Hassan Abdallah