Jesse Were, Olwande feature in Kimanzi’s first call of duty

Newly appointed Kenya national team, Harambee Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi has named a provisional list of 27 players as he starts early preparations for the coming friendly match against Uganda set for September 8 at MISC, Kasarani.

Among his call ups is Zesco United forward Jesse Were, whose omission as the team headed to the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt caused a massive uproar.

Worked together

Kimanzi and Were have previously worked together, at Tusker FC in 2015, when the striker bagged the Kenyan Premier League Golden Boot with 22 goals.

Also called up is Kariobangi Sharks’ newly signed defender Samuel Olwande, having recently recovered from a knee injury. The team also has spots for Kakamega Homeboyz’s midfielder Moses Mudavadi and Bandari’s Nicholas Meja.


There’s no place in the team for Masud Juma, despite recently making a move to Algerian heavyweights JS Kabilye while Dennis Odhiambo, a regular in Sebastien Migne’s squads also misses out from the provisional list.

Meanwhile, the coach also has a list of 10 reserve players, from where he will pick replacements in case any of the called up players becomes unavailable.

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St. George SC, Ethiopia), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Faruk Shikalo (Young Africans SC, Tanzania)

Defenders: Joseph Okumu ( Real Monarchs FC, USA), Mike Kibwage (KCB FC, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia FC, Kenya), Benard Ochieng (Wazito FC, Kenya), Abud Omar (Sepsi OSK Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania), Erick Ouma (Vasalunds IF, Sweden) Nicholas Meja (Bandari, Kenya), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya)

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs FC, England), Francis Kahata (Simba SC, Tanzania), Boniface Muchiri (Tusker FC, Kenya), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia FC, Kenya), Duke Abuya (Kariobangi Sharks FC, Kenya), Ismael Gonzales (UD Las Palmas FC, Spain), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia FC, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe FC, China), Cliff Nyakeya (FC Masr, Egypt), Erick Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz FC), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards SC).

Strikers: Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol FC, Japan), Jesse Were (Zesco United, Zambia), John Avire (Sofapaka FC, Kenya).


Goalkeeper: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito FC, Kenya), Brian Otieno (Bandari, Kenya), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya).

Midfielders: Dennis Odhiambo (KCB, Kenya), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya).

Strikers: Nicholas Kipkirui (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya), Timothy Otieno (Tusker, Kenya)