Wazito name five debutants in starting squad for Nzoia Sugar Machakos tie

Six new signings will line up in the starting XI for Wazito FC as Fred Ambani’s charges take on Nzoia Sugar at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos on Saturday 31 August in the two teams’ opening round fixture of the 2019-20 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) season.

Five of the six will be making their official debuts for the team while one will be making his debut for a second stint.

Wazito heavily recruited in preparation for their second stub at the KPL and have gone ahead to name a further six new signings among the substitutes for the early kickoff clash that is set for 1PM.

Matthew Tayo Odongo was unveiled by Wazito on Friday and has been given a starting berth against Nzoia Sugar (PIC: Wazito FC)

In goal, Kevin Omondi, signed from Sony Sugar will start with Karim Nzigiyimana on the right side of the defence. Nzigiyimana, who won the KPL with Gor Mahia, spent last season in the UPL.

Kenya U23 defender Johnstone Omurwa will start in the centre of defence alongside veteran Lloyd Wahome with the young defender starting his second stint with the side after featuring for them in 2017. He joins from Mathare United who he left Wazito for in 2018.

In midfield, Brian Musa, Michael Oduor and Matthew Tayo will start in support of Joe Waithera and Derrick Onyango who have been charged with getting the goals upfront.

Ali Abondo, who was also unveiled on Friday, starts from the bench agaisnt Nzoia (PIC: Wazito FC)

Musa joined from NSL side Nairobi Stima while Oduor has come in from Sofapaka FC. Tayo on his part returns to the KPL after spending the last two seasons in his native Uganda with URA. He featured in the KPL for Tusker FC and Kariobangi Sharks.

There is even more space on the bench for more new signings with Bernard Ochieng, Elvis Rupia, Ali Abondo and youngster Joshua Nyatini part of a strong supporting cast.

Below is the squad:

Starting XI: Brian Omondi (GK), Karim Nzigiyimana, Lloyd Wahome, Washington Munene, Johnstone Omurwa, Brian Musa, Amos Asembeka, Mike Oduor, Matthew Tayo, Joe Waithera, Derrick Onyango

Subs: Gad Matthew (GK), Paul Aquah, Ali Abondo, Joshua Nyatini, Derrick Otanga, Bernard Ochieng, Elvis Rupia