I still don’t know the names of some of my players, admits Korea

New Nzoia Sugar head coach Collins Korea Omondi is proud after seeing his charges put up a valiant performance against big spending Wazito FC on the opening round of the new 2019-20 KPL season but rather surprisingly, the former Kariobangi Sharks assistant has admitted that he is yet to memorize the names of some of his players, a month after being appointed.

Omondi was appointed at the start of August after leaving his position at Sharks and in his first game as head coach in the topflight, orchestrated his young team’s 1-1 draw away to Wazito in Machakos on Saturday.


In his assessments after the game, Omondi spoke glowingly of his young charges who stepped up against the well experienced and star-studded Wazito.

“We came here looking for a positive result and we got one. It was never going to be easy against a team like Wazito who have experience all over the pitch. But we dug in and got a worthy result.

“My team is young and I must admit that I don’t know some of them by name as yet.”


In his first coaching job as head coach in the topflight, Omondi faced off against his mentor Stanley Okumbi who was standing in for the absent Fred Ambani and this was a proud moment for the former Sony Sugar assistant who served with Okumbi at Mathare United and MYSA.

“It is a good feeling to be up against your mentor and someone you look up too and it is even a greater feeling to match them toe to toe,” he said.

Omondi will now face off against his former employers Sony Sugar after the international break in the millers derby where a win will go even further in boosting his young team’s spirits.

Below is how his team lined up for the game against Wazito;

Starting XI: 15. Humphrey Katasi , 17. Brian Wepo , 16. Thomas Wainaina, 34. Chris Wesamba, 06. Rama Mwenda, 13. Kevin Juma, 22. Robert Abonga, 21. Robert Arrot , 09. Boris Kwezi, 32. Leonard Kasembeli, 07. Collins Wakhungu

Subs: 23. Faraji Kabali, 05. Ian Karani , 25. Dennis Wanjala, 11. Abraham Kipkogei, 03. Gaetan Masha, 20. Okanda Felicien, 18. James Kibande