KPL Goals: Braces galore as 9 new signings open accounts

In a week from which 26 efforts by players hit the back of the net- four of those players stood out, bagging two goals from their respective matches. The Kenyan Premier League is back and season 2019-20 offered a massive 26 goals in just week one. Only one match, Mathare United up against Bandari offered no goal.

Gor Mahia captain Kenneth Muguna struck twice for the champions in an emphatic 5-2 dismissal of Tusker FC in Kisumu. The highest-scoring fixture on the opening week, Tusker’s Boniface Muchiri also offered two goals- and very sumptuous ones I must note. Also on the scoresheet in the Friday roller coaster affair were Charles Momanyi, Kipkurui Nicholas and Boniface Omondi- all for the champions.

Boniface Muchiri celebrates one of his two goals against Gor Mahia [IMAGE- Fabian Odhiambo]

However, before Muguna and Muchiri took to their 4:15 pm face-off, 2018-19 Golden Boot winner Enosh Ochieng had helped himself to a brace against KPL new boys Kisumu All Stars at the same venue- Moi Stadium. Aided by Oscar Wamalwa’s industry from the flanks, Enosh picked up from where he left last season, firing two to dismiss Henry Omino’s young boys.

The fourth brace from week one happens in Kericho- and for the hosts. Kepha Ondati stepped up in the second half to guide Zoo to a 3-1 win over Chemelil Sugar after a barren opening half. The Kericho side is one known have stand-out players every season- they that eventually leave for greener pastures, and in the absence of their recent export Danston Chetambe, in comes Ondati- another attacking midfielder to watch out for.

He scored two as Derrick Anami did the third. Chemelil’s Rashid Moyo, shipped in from Kangemi All Stars, pulled on back for the visitors.

Ondati (R) joins-now former teammates-Michael Madoya and Danson Chetambe in celebrating a past goal. Is he the one to lift Zoo this season? [IMAGE- Fabian Odhiambo]

Sharks-Stima out in Machakos on Friday produced four goals- two for each team, and most notably- 2018 Golden Boot winner Erick Kapaito was on the mark, equalizing for William Muluya’s men after Kennedy Owino had given the visitors the lead. New signing Patrick Otieno grabbed on in the tie as goalkeeper- and number one penalty taker at Stima- Samuel Abawa, leveled for 2-2 deep in the game.

Elli Asieche’s strike for Sofapaka could have pointed to a great start for the 2009 champions but Gerson Likono and Eliud Lokuwam responded for Posta Rangers who won the tie 2-1.

The KPL seems to have warmly welcomed Elvis Rupia back in the league as the once lethal Nzoia Sugar striker stepped up for a penalty against his former side to salvage a point for new employers Wazito, scoring the equalizer in the second half after being introduced from the bench in the 1-1 draw. Collins Wakhungu had given the millers the lead against the expensively assembled Wazito.

Enosh Ochieng has picked up from where he left last season [IMAGE- Fabian Odhiambo]

The subject of hitting back at former employers continues in Awendo- the green stadium in which that just recently- Enock Agwanda sauntered like a god. Now turning out for Kenya Commercial Bank, Agwanda was on target as they dispatched SoNy 3-0. Stephen Waruru and Dennis Odhiambo were the cushions to Agwanda’s opener.

The final goal of the week is one from Bukhungu’s most favorite fixture of the season. A time when AFC Leopards play at their ceremonial yard yet turn out to be the visitors. Ingwe’s visits to Bukhungu stadium haven’t been the best for the Leopards and will perhaps take comfort that they reduced the margin by which they lost to Kakamega Homeboyz last season.

Etyang Stephen was the difference between Homeboyz and Leopards [IMAGE- Fabian Odhiambo]

A fixture always reserved for new signings, Stephen Etyang showed up late in the game to hand the tie to Coach Nicholas Muyoti with an outstanding left-foot drive from wide left- beating Benjamin Ochan for 1-0.

Etyang was one of the 9 new signing in week one who opened their accounts. Others are Elvis Rupia, Enock Agwanda, Stephen Waruru, Dennis Odhiambo, Eliud Lokuwam, Patrick Otieno, Rashid Moyo and Kennedy Owino.