Kenya U20 squad to fly out to Uganda on Wednesday for CECAFA tourney

The Kenyan national U20 men’s team will depart the country on Wednesday 18 September for Jinja Uganda where they will take part in this year’s CECAFA U20 championships set to kick off on Saturday 21.

Dubbed the Rising Stars, the team which is being coached by former national senior team tactician Stanley Okumbi, will represent the country in the 11 nation tournament where they have been pooled in Group B alongside Tanzania, Ethiopia and Zanzibar.


Stars will kick off their tournament against Zanzibar on Sunday before taking on Tanzania two days later on Tuesday. They will conclude their group stage fixtures against Ethiopia on Thursday.

The top three teams in both Group’s A and B as well as the top two in Group C will advance to the knockout rounds.

Squad trimming

A total of 28 players are currently in camp with the squad expected to be trimmed down to a final 23-man list on Tuesday 17 September, when the team holds its final training session in the country.

Okumbi had initially named a 41-man provisional squad before trimming it down last week.

Having seen the U15 squad reach the final of their equivalent age group CECAFA tourney held in Eritrea in August, the U20 lads will be hoping to go one better and claim the region’s bragging rights by lifting the title for only the third time in the country’s history.

Below is the list of players currently in camp;

Goalkeepers: Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Bixente Otieno (Wazito)

Defenders: Alphonce Otieno (Gor Mahia), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards), Boniface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Alvin Ochieng (Kisumu All-Stars), Brian Wepo (Nzoia Sugar), Boniface Mwangemi (Dagoretti High School), John Otieno (Kakamega Homeboyz), Tom Teka (Kariobangi Sharks), Levian Ochieng (Nairobi Stima)

Midfielders: Joshua Nyatini (Wazito), Fidel Origa (Western Stima), Musa Masika (Wazito), John Njuguna (Ulinzi Stars), Peter Oudo (Kariobangi Sharks), Austin Ochieng (AFC Leopards), Alvin Mang’eni (Nairobi Stima), Steve Otieno (Kisumu All-Stars), Chris Owino (FC Talanta), Enock Wanyama (Ligi Ndogo), Erick Kinuthia (KCB), Tonny Kegode (Gor Mahia Youth).

Forwards: Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Abraham Dawo (Kenya Police), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Ronald Shichenje (Aspire Academy), Kevinton Machika (Kariobangi Sharks)