Three earn maiden call-ups as Harambee Starlets squad for Ghana Olympics qualifier is named

Harambee Starlets head coach David Ouma has handed three players their first call-ups to the senior women’s team as he named his provisional squad for the upcoming 2020 Olympics Qualifier two-legged tie against Ghana.

Ouma has called-up Hannah Mbithe of FKF Division One side Limuru Starlets as well as Monica Odato of Wadadia and Phiona Awino of Thika Queens for their first call-ups as he named a 31 strong provisional squad that mainly constitutes household names that have shone for the country before.

Mbithe is a midfielder while Odato and Awino are goalkeepers.


Thika Queens’ Mwanahalima Adam, Vihiga Queens’ Cynthia Shilwatso and Trans Nzoia Falcons’ Martha Amunyolete have all been included in the team that is dominated by players from Thika United and Gaspo.

There is also a place for the returning Elizabeth Katungwa of Kwale Girls who shone in last season’s Chapa Dimba tournament as Ouma beefs up both the attack and defence.


Kenya, who defeated Malawi in the previous round of the qualifiers, will travel to Ghana for the firs-leg match set for October 4 before returning back to host the second-leg on October 8.

A win for Kenya against Ghana, who they last played against in a friendly in Nairobi in 2018 as the West African’s prepared for that year’s AWCON, will send them to the fourth and penultimate round of the qualifiers for a chance to grace next year’s Olympics tournament in Tokyo Japan.

Below is the full squad;


Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Judith Osimbo (Gaspo Youth), Monica Odato (Wadadia), Phiona Awino (Thika Queens)


Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens), Maureen Khakasa (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Fosca Nashivanda (Zetech Sparks), Wincate Kaari (Thika Queens), Nelly Sawe (Thika Queens), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian), Lucy Akoth (Mathare United), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Cynthia Khaveye (KGSA), Quinter Atieno (Gaspo), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens)


Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo), Sheryl Angachi (Gaspo), Corazone Aquino (Gaspo), Topista Nafula (Vihiga Queens), Martha Amunyolete (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Hannah Mbithe (Limuru Starlets), Sharon Khasandi (Kayole Starlets), Gentrix Shikangwa (Wiyeta Girls), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens)


Janet Moraa (Eldoret Falcons), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Bertha Omita (Kisumu All-Starlets), Mercy Airo (Kisumu All-Starlets), Sharon Adhiambo (Makolanders), Elizabeth Katungwa (Kwale Girls), Puren Anyetu (Zetech Sparks)