FKF Polls: One NEC position up for contest, four new members join FKF top organ

The 2019 Football Kenya Federation Electoral Board on Saturday 2 November published the list of cleared candidates to vie for the available positions at the national and county elections.

From the list published, most of the topmost organ of the federation, the National Executive Committee (NEC) will have officials going in unopposed, while there will also be a number of new occupants to these offices.

Woman Representative

The only position for which elections will be conducted, as per the list, is that of the Woman Representative. This position has attracted three candidates.

Sally Bolo, the Gor Mahia treasurer will be fighting it out with Shabana FC CEO Kerubo Momanyi and top FIFA Referee instructor Margaret Omondi for the newly created position.

There will also be two more created positions in the NEC, for co-opted members.

Not vying

From the previous NEC office holders, Chris Amimo who is the current NEC Member for Nairobi, David Gikaria, the NEC Member for Rift Valley, David Njoroge, the NEC Member for Central and Mohamed Mulla, the NEC Member for North Eastern will not be vying.

Michael Majua Ouma, has been listed as the only aspirant who made official candidature for the Nairobi County NEC Member’s position while Gordon Davies Chege, the current Aberdares Branch chairman goes in unopposed as the Central NEC Member.

Ahmed Qadar will be the new regional representative for North Eastern, after presenting his papers and getting the clearance to replace Mulla.

Split into two

Meanwhile, the very expansive Rift Valley has been split into two – Lower Rift and Upper Rift Valley. David Bunei is the unopposed candidate for Lower Rift Valley region having earlier served as South Rift Branch Chairman.

Meanwhile the unopposed Bernard Lagat will take the mantle in Upper Rift Valley, having been the North Rift Branch Chairman.

The President, Nick Mwendwa, and his vice, Doris Petra also go back unopposed and will retain their places in the NEC.

Tony Kweya, Timothy Nabea, Joseph Andere, and Gabriel Mghendi will retain their positions in the NEC unopposed.

New NEC composition

The new expanded NEC will thus have: Nick Mwendwa (President), Doris Petra (Vice President), Gordon Davies (Central), Ahmed Qadar (North Eastern), Bernard Lagat (Upper Rift), David Bunei (Lower Rift), Tony Kweya (Western), Timothy Nabea (Eastern), Joseph Andere (Nyanza), Gabriel Mghendi (Coast), Michael Majua (Nairobi), two co-opted members,
FKF Premier League representative, FKF National Super League representative and the Woman Representative.