Three new inclusions in CECAFA squad as Bwire pulls out with injury

The Kenya national team head coach Francis Kimanzi on Monday 2 December called up three new players to his provisional squad for the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup set for Uganda starting Saturday 7 December, as he tries to maximize on his options, after keeper Brian Bwire pulled out of the team’s preparations due to injury.

The Kariobangi Sharks shot stopper, who was part of the Kenya U20 team that reached the final of the U20 CECAFA championships in October in Uganda, was named in the senior team squad with an injured hip which was at first not thought to be serious.


He has since been replaced by Western Stima’s veteran custodian Samuel Odhiambo, one of the three new players called up to the team, with the others being Tusker FC’s forward Timothy Otieno and Bandari’s Mohammed Katana.

The team reported to camp on Monday 2 December to start preparations for the regional tournament.

Kimanzi had initially called up 26 players with former Bandari man Anthony Wambani the only foreign based player in the squad.

There is also space in the team for KCB FC sensation Reagan Otieno who has earned his first ever call up after impressing in his debut season for the Bankers.

Below is the squad:

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Suleiman Ngotho (Posta Rangers), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Hillary Wandera (Tusker), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United) Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks).

Midfielders: Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), Luke Namanda (Tusker), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia), Mohammed Katana (Bandari).

Forwards: Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars), John Mark Makwatta (AFC Leopards), Timothy Otieno (Tusker)