CECAFA fixtures revised Harambee Stars get new opponents

Fixtures for the upcoming CECAFA Senior Challenge set to kick off on Saturday 7 December in Uganda have been revised and in effect, will see Kenya get new opponents and move to a new group.

DR Congo, who were expected to grace the competition as a guest team, pulled out citing a lack of funds to facilitate the team, while other CECAFA members, Rwanda and Ethiopia confirmed they won’t be taking part.

Kenya in Group B

Harambee Stars is now pooled in Group B alongside Tanzania, Sudan and Zanzibar unlike before where Kenya was in Group C alongside Djibouti, Tanzania, and Zanzibar. While Kenya was initially set to kickoff their campaign with a game against Djibouti, it will now be against Tanzania on Sunday 8 December.

Nine teams are set to take part in the competition, and Group A will have five teams – hosts Uganda, Burundi, Somalia, Djibouti, and Eritrea.

The top two teams in each group will proceed to the semifinals slated for Tuesday 17 December in Kampala.


Saturday 7 December

Djibouti vs Somalia, Kampala

Uganda vs Burundi, Kampala

Sunday 8 December

Zanzibar vs Sudan, Kampala

Kenya vs Tanzania, Kampala

Monday 9 December

Burundi vs Eritrea, Kampala

Somali vs Uganda, Kampala

Tuesday 10 December

Sudan vs Kenya, Kampala

Tanzania vs Zanzibar, Kampala

Wednesday 11 December

Eritrea vs Uganda, Kampala

Burundi vs Djibouti, Kampala

Friday 13 December

Djibouti vs Eritrea, Kampala

Eritrea vs Somali, Kampala

Saturday 14 December

Kenya vs Zanzibar, Kampala

Sudan vs Tanzania, Kampala

Sunday 15 December

Somali vs Burundi, Kampala

Uganda vs Djibouti, Kampala