Journey to repeat elections restarted as delegates approve board, code

The journey is well on for the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) repeat elections after at least 69 of the 78 delegates voted in approval of the formation of a new Electoral Code as well as the formulation of a fresh Electoral Board in a Special General Meeting (SGM) held at the Safari Park Hotel on Tuesday 28 January.

The federation was forced to go back to the polls by the Sports Disputes Tribunal (SDT) hammer on December 3 after a ruling that nullified the already conducted County Elections and canceled the planned Sub Branch and National Election polls.

Five members

The Tribunal found FKF to have flouted the rules in shape of not having conducted enough public participation towards the polls and also faulted the composition of the Electoral Board. In response, the federation started the process of public participation at the county level from December 7 2019, to January 8 2020.

The highlight of it all was the unveiling on five board members, and three standby members, as ell as the new electoral code, both which were approved by the members present, save for a few who abstained.

Kentice Tikolo, Patrick Mathew Onyango, Ali Hassan Kauleni, Alfred Ndinya Jawuor, and Samuel Karanja will make up the new board while Racheal Muthoga, Elaine Mbugua, and Andrew Mudibo will be the standby board members.

Duo abstained

A total of 69 members voted in favor of the board, with AFC Leopards, represented by chairman Dan Shikanda, and Gor Mahia, represented by Treasurer, Sally Bolo abstaining from the vote.

Meanwhile, 72 delegates polled in favor of the new Electoral Code, albeit with minimal changes.

The new board will thus go ahead and pick its officials as well as setting the roadmap for the elections, which ideally should come before end of March.