KPL Goals: Otieno keeps a firm grip at the top as Neto joins the chasing pack

Tusker’s Timothy Otieno will maintain his place as leader of the hunt for the 2019-20 Kenyan Premier League Golden Boot after adding another goal- a decisive one against AFC Leopards on Sunday. The lone match played on Sunday 9th, Otieno rises to 12 goals, drifting two goals further from second place Enock Agwanda who failed to find the target in round 21.

A total of 20 goals were scored in the round with Patrick Otieno kicking off the round on Friday as Kariobangi Sharks won 1-0 over Kenya Commercial Bank.

Patrick Otieno was the difference between K-Sharks and KCB [IMAGE- K Sharks]
On Saturday, Kakamega Homeboyz were away to Bandari FC and played from 2 pm at the Mbaraki Sports Club. Despite taking the lead through Mwinyi Hassan, the hosts could not ward off the recently free-firing Homeboyz side and were duly pegged back by Benjamin Oketch– turning up in the right-back position on this day.

Out in Sudi, Nzoia Sugar had taken the lead through Victor Likare’s ferocious drive but Ulinzi, knowing what threat the sugar millers can possess especially when they see the military men around, rallied to even the scores through Omar Borafya. It ended 1-1.

Western Stima had not won any of their previous three matches and took on Wazito FC in Narok hoping a few things could change. This was, however, not to be as Augustine Otu opened the scoring for the hosts. Kevin Omundi would draw Stima back level with five minutes of regular time left on the clock but complacency deep in stoppage time allowed Musa Masika to fire Wazito to a 2-1 win.

Musa Masika made amends for this yellow card by deciding this match against Western Stima with the last kick of the game [IMAGE- Wazito FC]
After recording two successive draws, a spell that spelled hope to them, Chemelil Sugar eventually got their win and it came against a side tough to break at the back. Vincent Wanga and Paul Odanga struck to send the home side 2-0 up, and they could have kept a rare clean sheet had Ken Mutembei not halved the deficit for Posta Rangers.

Mathare United hosted Zoo FC at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani and went 1-0 up through Kevin Kimani. Zoo, fighting back through Neto Collins from the spot, leveled matters for 1-1 but United were not done.

Kinyanjui James restored the slumboys’ lead after which Kimani came for his double.

Saturday had one epic battle reserved for 4:15 pm kick-off. Out in Narok, defending champions Gor Mahia were up against Sofapaka. It is here that perhaps the fastest goal this season was scored. Capitalizing on a very early defensive lapse from Gor Mahia, Chinoso Uzoagba struck within 24 seconds off kick-off for a 1-0 Sofa lead.

Sebastine Sunday celebrates Sofapaka’s third goal against Gor Mahia [IMAGE- Rodgers Odhiambo]
Samuel Onyango struck back for 1-1 and ensured the rest of the first half was evenly contested. In the second half, Uzoagba completed his brace and while Gor attempted to rally back, Sebastine Ikhekhai made it 3-1. the champions had been felled for the third time this season.

The final match of the round is an Afraha stadium contest when AFC Leopards took on Tusker FC. Timothy Otieno was the difference here, scoring in the second half to see the brewers move to within three points of Gor Mahia.

This is how the log looks like after round 20

John Mark Makwatta (Out of contest)* 13
Timothy Otieno (Tusker) 12
Enock Agwanda (KCB) 10
Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi) 8
Peter Thiong’o (Homeboyz) 7
Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi) (Out of contest)* 7
Benson Omalla (Stima) 7
Elli Asieche (Sofa) 7
Francis Nambute (Rangers)) 7
Kenneth Muguna (Gor)

Collins Neto (Zoo)