All systems a go in nomination process for 2020 FKF Elections

The newly constituted Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Electoral Board will from Thursday 13 February begin to receive the nomination papers of all aspirants interested in county level positions in this year’s national elections.

Aspirants from Kwale, Mombasa, Kilifi, Tana River, Lamu, Taita Taveta, Garissa and Wajir are set to be the first to hand in their papers at the exercise that will kick off from 9am at the Goal Project offices.

The general elections were set to be held at the tail end of 2019 but were nullified by the Sports Dispute Tribunal which ruled that FKF had sidestepped the rest of the stakeholders towards constituting the Electoral Code as well as the elections board.

By the time the elections were being cancelled, the branch polls had already been held.

One week period

The county level nominations will run for a week and will conclude on Tuesday 18 after which a preliminary list of the aspirants will be published by the Electoral Board three days later on Friday 21.

Two days (February 26-28) have been set for the Board to listen to any disputes arising from the nomination process.

The final list of candidates seeking elective posts in both county and national level will be released on March 2 ahead of the elections to be held on the 27th of March.

The deadline for clubs eligible to vote in the elections was on Wednesday 12 February.

Below is the nominations schedule;

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Mombasa (9 am), Kwale (10 am), Kilifi (11 am), Tana River (12 noon), Lamu (2 pm), Taita Taveta (3 pm), Garissa (4 pm), Wajir (5 pm)

Friday, February 14, 2020

Mandera (9 am), Marsabit (10 am), Isiolo (11 am), Meru (12pm), Tharaka Nithi (2 pm), Embu (3 pm), Kitui (4 pm), Machakos (5 pm)

Saturday, February 15,2020

Makueni (9 am), Nyandarua (10 am), Nyeri (11 am), Kirinyaga (12 pm), Murang’a (2pm), Kiambu (3 pm), Turkana (4 pm), West Pokot (5 pm)

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Samburu (9 am), Trans Nzoia (10 am), Uasin Gishu (11 am), Elgeyo Marakwet (12 pm), Nandi (2 pm), Baringo (3 pm), Laikipia (4 pm), Nakuru (5 pm)

Monday, February 17, 2020

Narok (9 am), Kajiado (10 am), Kericho (11 am), Bomet (12 pm), Kakamega (2 pm), Vihiga ( 3 pm), Bungoma (4 pm), Busia (5 pm)

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Siaya (9 am), Kisumu (10 am), Homabay (11 am), Migori (12 pm), Kisii ( 2 pm), Nyamira ( 3 pm), Nairobi West (4 pm), Nairobi East (5 pm)