KPL Goals: Active week for leading scorers as Otieno wrestles back log leadership

There was a three-goal drop from round 22 of the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) with only two players managing braces, but still- a massive 26 goals were scored across eight matches- most of them, very close contests.

We look at the players involved in the goal-scoring activities from round 23.

Enosh Ochieng will go to nine goals for the season, further wheeling away from Oscar Wamalwa who has since been ruled out for the rest of the season at Ulinzi Stars. Enosh, stepping up for a penalty against Sofapaka on Saturday- made no mistake in his quest for a second successive Golden Boot. Ulinzi won by that solitary goal.

Tusker were out in Kisumu, trying to keep up a title chase and upfront, striker Timothy Otieno trying to maintain his grip at the top of the goal-scoring charts. Kisumu All Stars striker Michael Owino struck against the 2016 league champions but Luke Namanda responded well before the break for a 1-1 half time scoreline. A match evenly contested, the visitors would threaten to run away with all the three points when Timothy showed up late in the game for 2-1. All Stars, not to be cowed into submission, struck back a minute later through Eric Otieno. It would end square at 2-2, and Timothy going further up to 13 goals for the season.

Three goals were scored under 15 minutes when Gor Mahia hosted Western Stima at the Moi International Sports Center, Kasarani. Boniface Omondi, Kenneth Muguna and Nicholas Kipkirui were all on target as the champions raced into a 3-0 lead. Stima would begin a slaw claw-back through Baron Oketch from the spot, and later on- Benson Omalla. This would be too little too late. Gor bagged the three points as Muguna and Omalla each went to 8 goals for the season.

The final clash of Saturday- also the last day of February, was AFC Leopards’ 1-0 dismissal of Chemelil Sugar at the Green Stadium in Kericho, a goal scored by Elvis Rupia whose hot form takes him to 9 goals.

Dennis Ng’ang’a (C) went from giving an assist last week to scoring for Wazito [IMAGE- Wazito FC]
Despite putting up a brave fight last time out when they played holders Gor Mahia, Zoo were taken down by four goals to one by Wazito on Sunday. Dennis Ng’ang’a, Augustine Otu, Paul Kiongera and Joe Waithira were the names for Stewart Hall’s men while Collins Neto– scoring his 8th of the season, could only manage a consolation for Zoo.

Mathare United meanwhile, had taken the lead against Posta Rangers as they sought to bounce back from their recent loss to Bandari FC. Captain Chris Oduor, scoring for the slumboys, could not marshall his men enough to contain Rangers- hosts on the day, as they struck back through Francis Nambute who goes to 8 goals. The tie ended 1-1.

While Kenya Commercial Bank have had a stellar season, their Sunday opponents Bandari- albeit on a resurgence currently- haven’t had the best of seasons. It is for this reason then, that the Dockers completing a double over the Bankers surprises many. John Mwita struck twice for Bandari and Dennis Odhiambo’s late goal a mere consolation for KCB.

The final clash of the round is the absolute thriller. Nzoia Sugar visiting Kakamega Homeboyz or vice-versa will always bring out the very best of the two western province sides.

Nzoia took the lead through Peter Gin, and for good measure- made it a shocking 2-0 lead before the break through Phillip Muchuma right at Homeboyz’s backyard. Not many teams score a goal here, let alone win.

Benjamin Oketch has now scored in three successive matches for Homeboyz [IMAGE- Fabian Odhiambo]
The second half saw the introduction of Allan Wanga, and to rapturous applause from the home crowd. They, however, had to wait till the 83rd minute- and against resolute Nzoia defending to see Wanga pull one back. Having tasted blood, Homeboyz poured forward, and it is no surprise then that the man to give them the equalizer, and a winner- is a defender. Benjamin Oketch scored twin headers in the 88th and 93rd minutes to see the tie end 3-2 and keep Homeboyz in the title chase.

Here’s how the Top Scorers’ Log looks:

John Mark Makwatta (Out of contest)* 13
Timothy Otieno (Tusker) 13
Enock Agwanda (KCB) 12
Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi) 9
Elvis Rupia-(Leopards) 9
Peter Thiong’o- (Homeboyz) 8
Benson Omalla (Stima) 8
Collins Neto (Zoo) 8
Francis Nambute (Rangers)) 8
Kenneth Muguna (Gor)

Elli Asieche- (Sofa)

Allan Wanga- (Homeboyz)

Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi) (Out of contest)*