Home teams shine as KWPL 2020 season kicks off

The Kenya Women Premier League (KWPL) 2020 season kicked off on Saturday 7 March and Sunday 8 at different venues across the country.

Zone A opened the season with one match while Zone B played one match on Saturday and two others on Sunday.

Hosts Makolanders edged Mathare United Women in Zone A match at Camp Toyoyo, Makolanders scorer Christine Nafula bagged a brace at the 69th and 72nd minute.

The 78th minute saw Nyarosto Olwichi bag a goal for her team sealing the game with a 3-0 win.


The day did not end at that after debutants Nakuru West Queens also recorded one of the biggest win against Oserian Ladies in Zone B match at Afraha Stadium.

Julia Omondi scored an own goal in the 14th minute giving Queens the lead which would later be avenged in the second half by Oserian Muhandia Tressy scoring for her team in the 47th minute.

Hosts Queens rose to the occasion in the 63rd minute with a goal from Josephine Luyali and later Jennipher Minayo closing the day in the 80th minute giving her team 3-1 lead.

Mathare United vs Makolanders in a past action

Zone B

The second day of round one matches saw newbies SEP Oyugis beat Eldoret Falcons 2-1 at Nyahera Primary Grounds, in their debut match, Falcons scored their first goal in the 38th minute but this came short after Joan Akoth scored for the newbies in the 45th minute.

Christabel Muingereza scored the winning goal in the 85th minute giving the hosts the lead against their opponents.

Meanwhile, Trans Nzoia Falcons edged out Kisumu All Starlets 1-0 in their opening match of the Zone B at Moi Stadium.

The match was cagey in the first half, but Trans Nzoia Falcons Scorer Lydia Makwere opened the scores at the 48th minute closing the game with 0-1 win.

Weekend Results

Zone A


Makolanders 3-0 Mathare United Women (Camp Toyoyo, 10 am)

Zone B


Nakuru West Queens 3-1  Oserian Ladies (Afraha Stadium, 1 pm)


Kisumu All Starlets 0-1 Trans Nzoia Falcons (Moi Stadium, 1 pm)

Sep Oyugis 2-1  Eldoret Falcons (Nyahera Pr. School, 1 pm)