KPL Goals: Timothy Otieno finishes top in Golden Boot chase

Tusker’s Timothy Otieno finishes the 2019/20 Kenyan Premier League season as the division’s top scorer with 15 goals, this coming after the announcement that Gor Mahia FC have been declared champions by Football Kenya Federation president Nick Mwendwa.

The KPL, now on its second-month break like many other leagues world over due to the Corona virus pandemic, ends after 23 rounds, with teams now advised to start preparations for next season. The FA boss, on Thursday 30th morning, declared Gor Mahia champions- and Nairobi City stars, the first team promoted from the second tier National Super League.

”We hadn’t played 75% of matches in our leagues at the time of stoppage and this the regulation state that the standings at that time are considered final for all our seven tiers of football. So it means Gor Mahia are champions and we are forwarding their name to CAF for the Champions League next season,” says the president.

Enock Agwanda of Kenya Commercial Bank ends the season on 13 goals.

The official end of the KPL season means Otieno, 15 goals in the season for Tusker FC, finishes top, followed by John Mark Makwatta who managed 13 for AFC Leopards but is currently in Zambia with Zesco United. Kenya Commercial Bank’s Enock Agwanda will finish 3rd with 12 goals.

Last season’s Golden Boot winner Enosh Ochieng is joint 3rd on 9 goals with Elvis Rupia and Benson Omalla.

Enosh Ochieng of Ulinzi Stars, Elvis Rupia of Wazito and Western Stima youngster Benson Omalla follow on 9 goals each.

Overall Top Scorer Standings:

Timothy Otieno- (Tusker) 15
John Mark Makwatta (Out of contest)* 13
Enock Agwanda (KCB) 12
Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi) 9
Elvis Rupia-(Leopards) 9
Benson Omalla (Stima) 9
Peter Thiong’o- (Homeboyz) 8
Collins Neto (Zoo) 8
Francis Nambute (Rangers)) 8
Kenneth Muguna (Gor)

Elli Asieche- (Sofa)

Allan Wanga- (Homeboyz)

Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi) (Out of contest)*